Scientific Advisory Committee
Scientific Advisory Committee
Core Team
Core team
Board of Directors
Board of Directors
  • Shi Hepeng
    Founder, Chairman and CEO of Avistone

    Doctor of Microbiology and Biochemical Pharmacy, Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences & Peking Union Medical College. Beijing Science and Technology Rising Star, Beijing Top 100 Leading Talents, and Beijing High-level Innovation and Entrepreneurship Talents.
    Responsible for the development, commercialization of the company's innovative drugs, and company operation. With more than 17 years of working experience in large pharmaceutical companies and innovative biotechnology companies, he has engaged in early drug development, clinical study, industrial production, and commercial development. He has a deep understanding of the development of the biomedical industry. and is skilled in operation of innovation-based enterprises. Shi has led Purun'ao to become a leading enterprise and a member of the inaugural batch of companies in Beijing Biopharmaceutical Industry Breakthrough Development Project (also known as G20 Project).
    He has previously taken multiple executive positions including Executive Deputy General Manager of Yangzijiang Pharmaceutical Group Beijing Haiyan Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., and Group R&D Director and BD Director of Harbin Gloria Pharmaceuticals Co.,Ltd. He launched the production of "Suhuang Zhike Capsules" with an annual sales of 2 billion yuan in Beijing, and led Yangzijiang Beijing Haiyan Pharmaceutical to become a G20 biopharmaceutical enterprise in Beijing.

  • Zhang Peilong
    Chief Technology Officer, Avistone

    He graduated from Beijing Institute of Technology with a Ph.D in Organic Chemistry. He is also a founding member of Avistone, and is in charge of development of innovative drugs. Like Shi Hepeng, he also possesses more than 17 years of experience, albeit principally in the development of innovative drugs. He has led numerous new drug projects, and is a key inventor of numerous clinical drug candidates, as well as a leader of several clinical studies.
    Zhang has made significant achievements in the design of small-molecule targeted therapy, being a leader with rich experience in managing innovative teams.

  • David Chung
    Chief Business Officer, Avistone

    David has more than 20 years of working experience in top multinational companies and leading biotechnology companies. He has developed international strategies and garnered business development experience in the fields of tumors and rare/orphan diseases.
    Before joining Avistone, David was the Cheif Strategy Officer of BioShin Limited, a China/Asia-Pacific subsidiary of Biohaven Pharmaceuticals. He was also a Vice President and Head of the Business Development Department of Intercept Pharmaceuticals. His previous experiences also include Bristol-Myers Squibb, Johnson & Johnson and Jazz Pharmaceuticals where he held senior positions relating to strategy, corporate development and business development. He was also a Vice President and Medical Analyst in Lehman Brothers, where he was in charge of monitoring major US pharmaceutical corporations.
    David graduated with an MBA degree from Massachusetts Institute of Technology, a Masters degree from Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and a Bachelor's degree from Pomona College. He is also a Chartered Financial Anlayst (CFA).

  • Kevin Schaab, Ph.D.
    VP, Non-Clinical Development & CMC

    Kevin is responsible for supporting our pipeline for geographies outside of China and for our CMC / manufacturing strategy outside of China.  In addition, he is actively involved in business development activities for the company.  Prior to Avistone, he has worked in multiple biopharmaceutical companies including Pfizer, Neurocrine, Amira, and Intercept in the areas of pharmaceutical development, product development, CMC/manufacturing, program management, business development and alliance management.

    Kevin received his Ph.D. in Chemistry from the Florida State University and his MBA from the San Diego State University.


  • Wu Yilong

    Chairman, 2020 World Conference on Lung Cancer (WCLC)
    2021 Chinese Society of Clinical Oncology (CSCO) Annual Achievement Award
    2018-2021 Highly-cited Researcher in Clinical Medicine, the only candidate from China to have been selected.

  • Jiang Tao

    Director, Beijing Neurosurgical Institute
    Inaugural Chairman, Glioma Committee, Chinese Medical Doctor Association (CMDA) and China Anti-Cancer Association (CACA)  
    Headed drafting of "Glioma Diagnosis and Therapy Regulations [2018 edition]" published by National Health Commission

  • Chen Xiaoxiang

    Executive member of USCACA, Vice chairman of CSCO new Drug Development Committee

  • Dr. Lu Hongbo

  • Dr. Liu Weidong

  • Dr. Ricky Sun

  • Zheng Jiaqi, Director